To Colonize Space

To Colonize Space

 

Every long term mission needs a mission statement.  The original Star Trek had one – to boldly go where no man has gone before.  And a society I joined in the late 70s had one – to put the first colony in space, specifically the L5 Lagrange point.

There’s a lot of stories to tell surrounding that society and my space colonization interests.  It was one of the first organizations I joined, and space interests were one of the reasons I first got involved in computers – here is a vital piece of what’s needed to launch rockets that I can experiment with myself!

I organized for it, had my first taste of national politics through it (the moon treaty), and even made it in the local paper.   Years later it even became the name of a startup company to provide an ISP cafe experience in Seattle, in the early 90s when I was there.  The name was chosen by my partner – who was a bit of a con man, from my interests, and stuck long after  I left.  So a lot of stories surrounded this childhood to early adult interest of mine, (the organization ceased to officially exist in the mid 80s by a merger with another), but here it is mentioned because it was part of my original computer experiences.

We are a long way from those times.  Private Space launches and other dreams from those times now exist.  Proposals for space exploration are endlessly floated.  There is an X prize to land a probe on the moon.  Computers are infinitely better then they were then.  Technology has advanced quite a bit. Colonization looks to be on the horizon.

And that is why I choose the picture for this blog:

If I was going to write a letter from myself to L5 today, like the one I sent when I first joined the L-5 Society, what would it say?

To be continued.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skylab

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L5_Society

http://www.nss.org/settlement/L5news/L5news1979.htm

http://www.secretprojects.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6452.15

 

 

Leave a Reply

